Starter for 10 Solarmovie

Starter for 10 (2006)


In 1985, against the backdrop of Thatcherism, Brian Jackson enrolls in the University of Bristol, a scholarship boy from seaside Essex with a love of knowledge for its own sake and a childhood spent watching University Challenge, a college quiz show. At Bristol he tries out for the Challenge team and falls under the spell of Alice, a lovely blond with an extensive sexual past.

Starter for 10 Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 6.4/10 from 210 votes
Release Date: 2006-09-13
Status: Released
Run time: 92 min / 1:32
Production Studio : Scion Films, BBC Films, HBO Films, Neal Street Productions, Playtone, Scamp Film and Theatre Ltd.
Production Countries: United Kingdom, United States of America


James McAvoy
as Brian Jackson
Alice Eve
as Alice Harbinson
Rebecca Hall
as Rebecca Epstein
Catherine Tate
as Julie Jackson
Dominic Cooper
as Spencer
Benedict Cumberbatch
as Patrick Watts
James Corden
as Tone
Mark Gatiss
as Bamber Gascoigne
Guy Henry
as Dr. Morrison
John Henshaw
as Des
Elaine Tan
as Lucy Chang
Simon Woods
as Josh
Charles Dance
as Michael Harbinson
Lindsay Duncan
as Rose Harbison
Sule Rimi
as Marcus
Ian Bonar
as Colin
Nicholas Gleaves
as Speaker for Nuclear Disarmament
Joe Van Moyland
as Hippy at Party
James Gaddas
as Martin Jackson
Joseph Friend
as Young Brian
Rasmus Hardiker
as University Challenge Competitor
Robert Cawsey
as University Challenge Competitor
Ben Willbond
as University Challenge Coordinator
Su Elliott
as Cleaner
Reuben-Henry Biggs
as Anthony Salmon
Bethan Bevan
as Cordelia Sykes
Tom Allen
as Tristram Neville
Raj Ghatak
as Nigel De Havilland
Kenneth Hadley
as Television Director
Gerard Monaco
as Waiter


Directing Tom Vaughan Director
Writing David Nicholls Novel
Writing David Nicholls Screenplay
Production Nina Gold Casting
Camera Ashley Rowe Director of Photography
Sound Blake Neely Original Music Composer
Sound Deva Anderson Music Supervisor
Sound Delphine Robertson Music Supervisor
Sound Tom Trafalski Music Editor
Art Sarah Greenwood Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Charlotte Morris Costume Design
Art Katie Spencer Set Decoration
Art Ian Bailie Supervising Art Director
Art Nick Gottschalk Art Direction
Editing Heather Persons Editor
Editing Jon Harris Editor
Directing Angela Wharton Script Supervisor
Camera Giles Keyte Still Photographer
Lighting Campbell McIntosh Gaffer
Sound Cameron Frankley Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Kimberly Harris Supervising Sound Editor
Production Tom Hanks Producer