The Bang Bang Club Solarmovie

The Bang Bang Club (2010)


In the early to mid '90s, when the South African system of apartheid was in its death throes, four photographers - Greg Marinovich, Kevin Carter, Ken Oosterbroek and João Silva - bonded by their friendship and a sense of purpose, worked together to chronicle the violence and upheaval leading up to the 1994 election of Nelson Mandela as president. Their work is risky and dangerous, potentially fatally so, as they thrust themselves into the middle of chaotic clashes between forces backed by the government (including Inkatha Zulu warriors) and those in support of Mandela's African National Congress.

The Bang Bang Club Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 6.8/10 from 85 votes
Release Date: 2010-09-15
Status: Released
Run time: 106 min / 1:46
Production Studio : Film Foundry Partners
Production Countries: Canada, South Africa


Malin Åkerman
as Robin Comley
Ryan Phillippe
as Greg Marinovich
Taylor Kitsch
as Kevin Carter
Frank Rautenbach
as Ken Oosterbroek
Neels Van Jaarsveld
as Joao Silva
Russel Savadier
as Ronald Graham
Ashley Friedlander
as Roxy
Patrick Lyster
as James Nachtwey
Nelson Mandela
as Himself
Lika Berning
as Vivian


Directing Steven Silver Director
Writing Steven Silver Screenplay
Writing Greg Marinovich Novel
Writing João Silva Novel
Sound Philip Miller Original Music Composer
Production Deirdre Bowen Casting
Art Emilia Roux Production Design
Editing Ronald Sanders Editor
Editing Tad Seaborn Editor
Costume & Make-Up Ruy Filipe Costume Design
Production Lance Samuels Producer
Production Adam Friedlander Producer
Production Daniel Iron Producer
Production Claire Welland Co-Producer
Production Neil Tabatznik Executive Producer
Production Steven Silver Executive Producer
Production Chris Ouwinga Executive Producer
Production Kweku Mandela Executive Producer
Production Laszlo Barna Executive Producer
Production Patrice Theroux Executive Producer
Production Jannie van Wyk Executive Producer
Production Darryn Welch Executive Producer
Production Ahmed Omar Carrim Executive Producer
Production Lal Bharwey Executive Producer
Production Shabir Carrim Executive Producer