Brazil Solarmovie

Brazil (1985)

ComedyScience Fiction

Low-level bureaucrat Sam Lowry escapes the monotony of his day-to-day life through a recurring daydream of himself as a virtuous hero saving a beautiful damsel. Investigating a case that led to the wrongful arrest and eventual death of an innocent man instead of wanted terrorist Harry Tuttle, he meets the woman from his daydream, and in trying to help her gets caught in a web of mistaken identities, mindless bureaucracy and lies.

Brazil Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7.7/10 from 1639 votes
Release Date: 1985-02-20
Status: Released
Run time: 132 min / 2:12
Production Studio : Embassy International Pictures
Production Country: United Kingdom


Jonathan Pryce
as Sam Lowry
Robert De Niro
as Archibald 'Harry' Tuttle
Katherine Helmond
as Mrs. Ida Lowry
Ian Holm
as Mr. M. Kurtzmann
Bob Hoskins
as Spoor
Michael Palin
as Jack Lint
Ian Richardson
as Mr. Warrenn
Terry Gilliam
as Smoking Man (uncredited)
Peter Vaughan
as Mr. Helpmann
Kim Greist
as Jill Layton
Jim Broadbent
as Dr. Jaffe
Derrick O'Connor
as Dowser
Roger Ashton-Griffiths
as Priest
John Pierce Jones
as Basement Guard
Barbara Hicks
as Mrs. Alma Terrain
Charles McKeown
as Harvey Lime
Kathryn Pogson
as Shirley
Bryan Pringle
as Spiro
Nigel Planer
as Charlie--Dept. of Works
Terence Bayler
as T.V. Commercial Presenter
Gorden Kaye
as M.O.I. Lobby Porter
Jack Purvis
as Dr. Chapman
Howard Lew Lewis
as Black Maria Guard
John Flanagan
as T.V. Interviewer / Salesman


Directing Terry Gilliam Director
Writing Tom Stoppard Screenplay
Production Arnon Milchan Producer
Production Patrick Cassavetti Producer
Camera Roger Pratt Director of Photography
Production Irene Lamb Casting
Art Norman Garwood Production Design
Sound Rodney Glenn Sound Editor
Editing Julian Doyle Editor
Sound Michael Kamen Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up James Acheson Costume Design
Sound Paul Carr Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art John Beard Art Direction
Art Keith Pain Art Direction
Production Margery Simkin Casting
Production Graham Ford Production Manager
Art Françoise Benoît-Fresco Assistant Art Director
Art Dennis Bosher Assistant Art Director
Crew Gary Dawson Property Master
Crew George Ball Property Master
Crew Andrew Garnet-Lawson Scenic Artist
Crew Bob Doyle Sound Recordist
Camera David Garfath Camera Operator
Camera David Appleby Still Photographer
Lighting Roy Rodhouse Gaffer
Directing Penny Eyles Script Supervisor
Production Geoff Freeman Publicist
Production Alan Arnold Publicist
Writing Charles McKeown Screenplay
Writing Terry Gilliam Screenplay
Costume & Make-Up Maggie Gray Set Dressing Supervisor
Sound Ary Barroso Music