8MM Solarmovie

8MM (1999)


A small, seemingly innocuous plastic reel of film leads surveillance specialist Tom Welles down an increasingly dark and frightening path. With the help of the streetwise Max, he relentlessly follows a bizarre trail of evidence to determine the fate of a complete stranger. As his work turns into obsession, he drifts farther and farther away from his wife, family and simple life as a small-town PI.

8MM Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 6.2/10 from 851 votes
Release Date: 1999-02-26
Status: Released
Run time: 123 min / 2:3
Production Studio : Global Entertainment Productions GmbH & Company Medien KG, Hofflund/Polone, Columbia Pictures
Production Country: United States of America


Nicolas Cage
as Tom Welles
Joaquin Phoenix
as Max California
James Gandolfini
as Eddie Poole
Chris Bauer
as George Higgins
Anthony Heald
as Daniel Longdale
Peter Stormare
as Dino Velvet
Catherine Keener
as Amy Welles
Norman Reedus
as Warren Anderson
Amy Morton
as Janet Mathews
Jenny Powell
as Mary Ann Mathews
Claudia Aros
as Miami Girlfriend
Mario Ernesto Sánchez
as Taxi Driver
Suzy Nakamura
as Computer Wizard
William Lawrence Mack
as Larry
Myra Carter
as Mrs. Christian
Torsten Voges
as Stick


Directing Joel Schumacher Director
Writing Andrew Kevin Walker Screenplay
Production Joel Schumacher Producer
Production Judy Hofflund Producer
Production Gavin Polone Producer
Sound Mychael Danna Original Music Composer
Camera Robert Elswit Director of Photography
Editing Mark Stevens Editor
Production Mali Finn Casting
Art Gary Wissner Production Design
Art Gershon Ginsburg Art Direction
Production Joseph M. Caracciolo Executive Producer
Production Jeff Levine Co-Producer
Art Gary Fettis Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Mona May Costume Design
Art Sarah Bullion Art Department Assistant
Art Tambre Hemstreet Art Department Coordinator
Art Jason Weil Assistant Art Director
Art Ron Petagna Construction Coordinator
Art Philip Canfield Leadman
Costume & Make-Up Felipe Sanchez Costume Illustrator
Art Colin De Rouin Set Designer
Camera Angelo Di Giacomo First Assistant Camera
Camera Ben Beaird Key Grip
Camera Nick Beaird Grip
Camera Rick Raphael Steadicam Operator
Camera Michael Ginsburg Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Ira M. Hammons-Glass Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Joseph Coscia Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Linda Grimes Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Alan Martin Key Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Kevin Ritter Set Costumer
Crew Younes Megri Additional Music
Crew Nancy Mott Craft Service
Crew Gina August Driver
Production Michael Boonstra Production Office Coordinator
Crew Walter Zieska Propmaker
Art Thomas Saccio Property Master
Sound Kim Maitland Sound Recordist
Crew Al Griswold Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Marco Kyris Stand In
Crew Eddie Yansick Stunt Coordinator
Crew Bill Anagnos Stunts
Crew David Severin Transportation Co-Captain
Crew John Orlebeck Transportation Coordinator
Production Joseph M. Caracciolo Unit Production Manager
Directing Alan Edmisten First Assistant Director
Directing Mads Hansen Script Coordinator
Editing Gloria Kaiser Color Timer
Lighting Glen Davis Best Boy Electric
Lighting James Barrett Electrician
Lighting Jim Plannette Gaffer
Lighting Billy Craft Lighting Technician
Lighting Rick A. Benedetto Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Brad Heiner Rigging Grip
Production Terrence Harris Casting Associate
Production Daniel R. Chavez Executive In Charge Of Post Production
Production Michael J. Burmeister Location Manager
Production Elizabeth Tompkins Production Accountant
Production Susan Dukow Production Coordinator
Production David J. Grant Production Supervisor
Production Michael Singer Publicist
Sound Marvin E. Lewis Boom Operator
Sound Cherie Tamai Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Thomas Milano Music Editor
Sound Nicholas Dodd Orchestrator
Sound Anthony Milch Sound Editor
Sound Joe Divitale Sound Effects Editor
Sound Carl D. Ware Sound Engineer
Sound Tom Nelson Sound Mixer
Sound John Leveque Supervising Sound Editor
Visual Effects David Peterson Special Effects Supervisor
Sound Willie D. Burton Sound
Art Mychael Bates Set Dresser
Directing Eli Richbourg Second Unit Director
Sound Mildred Iatrou Dialogue Editor
Sound Nerses Gezalyan Foley Mixer
Sound Becky Sullivan Supervising ADR Editor
Lighting Donald Dowd Lighting Technician
Costume & Make-Up Georgia Fletcher Costumer
Directing David Hallinan Second Assistant Director
Directing Lisa J. Bloch Second Second Assistant Director
Art Christopher Carlson Assistant Decorator
Art Kevin Long Assistant Property Master
Art Mike Montgomery Construction Grip
Art Martin Charles Graphic Designer
Art Vincent Guarriello Key Construction Grip
Art Jakub Durkoth Swing
Sound Gary A. Hecker Foley Artist
Sound Phillip Fuller Sound Mix Technician
Crew Joseph P. Mercurio Special Effects Assistant
Crew Tanner Gill Stunt Double
Camera Debbie Arrowood Assistant Camera
Camera Earl Perque Best Boy Grip
Camera Gary A. Beaird Dolly Grip
Camera Greg Faysash Second Assistant Camera
Production Maureen Whalen Casting Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Marcia Patten Wardrobe Supervisor
Editing Scott Janush Assistant Editor
Editing Mo Henry Negative Cutter
Production Alex Kivlen Assistant Location Manager
Production Gene Patterson Location Assistant
Sound Nicholas Dodd Conductor
Sound Mohamed Nesrate Music Consultant
Production Rebecca White Accountant
Production Lucy Herrera Assistant Accountant
Lighting R. Michael De Chellis Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Production Lisa Davidson Assistant Production Coordinator
Lighting Russell Engels Chief Lighting Technician
Production Bill Marinella Extras Casting
Production Amy Eldridge First Assistant Accountant
Production Edward Poveda Payroll Accountant
Production Andrew George Fink Production Assistant
Production Tony Romain Production Secretary
Crew Charles Guanci Jr. Second Unit