Close Encounters of the Third Kind Solarmovie

Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977)

Science FictionDrama

After an encounter with UFOs, a line worker feels undeniably drawn to an isolated area in the wilderness where something spectacular is about to happen.

Close Encounters of the Third Kind Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7.4/10 from 2211 votes
Release Date: 1977-11-16
Status: Released
Run time: 135 min / 2:15
Production Studio : Julia Phillips and Michael Phillips Productions, Columbia Pictures, EMI Films
Production Country: United States of America


Richard Dreyfuss
as Roy Neary
Fran├žois Truffaut
as Claude Lacombe
Teri Garr
as Ronnie Neary
Melinda Dillon
as Jillian Guiler
Bob Balaban
as David Laughlin
J. Patrick McNamara
as Project Leader
Warren J. Kemmerling
as Wild Bill
Cary Guffey
as Barry Guiler
Justin Dreyfuss
as Toby Neary
Lance Henriksen
as Robert
Merrill Connally
as Team Leader
Amy Douglass
as Implantee
Gene Dynarski
as Ike
Carl Weathers
as Military Policeman
Norman Bartold
as Norman Bartold
F.J. O'Neil
as ARP Project Member
Hal Barwood
as Returnee #2 Flt. 19
Phil Dodds
as ARP Musician
Matthew Robbins
as Returnee #3 Flt. 19
Gene Rader
as Hawker
Daniel Nunez
as Federale
Chuy Franco
as Federale
Luis Contreras
as Federale
Galen Thompson
as Special Forces
John Dennis Johnston
as Special Forces
Robert Broyles
as Dirty Tricks #3
Monty Jordan
as Special Forces Commander / Helicopter Pilot (uncredited)
Basil Hoffman
as Longly (uncredited)
Stephen Powers
as UN Observer (uncredited)
George DiCenzo
as Major Benchley
Alexander Lockwood
as Implantee
Roberts Blossom
as Farmer
Josef Sommer
as Larry Butler
Bill Thurman
as Air Traffic
James Keane
as Radio Telescope Team
J. Allen Hynek
as Himself - Smoking Pipe at Landing Site (uncredited)
Howard K. Smith
as Howard K. Smith (uncredited)
Adrienne Campbell
as Sylvia Neary
Philip Dodds
as Jean Claude
Shawn Bishop
as Brad Neary
Mary Gafrey
as Mrs. Harris
Michael J. Dyer
as Himself
Roger Ernest
as Highway Patrolman
Randy Hermann
as Returnee #1 Flt. 19
David Anderson
as Air Traffic Controller
Richard L. Hawkins
as Air Traffic Controller
Craig Shreeve
as Air Traffic
Roy E. Richards
as Air East Pilot
Eumenio Blanco
as Federale
Dennis McMullen
as Radio Telescope Team
Cy Young
as Radio Telescope Team
Tom Howard
as Radio Telescope Team
Richard Stuart
as Truck Dispatcher
Bob Westmoreland
as Load Dispatcher
Matt Emery
as Support Leader
John Ewing
as Dirty Tricks #1
Kirk Raymond
as Dirty Tricks #4
Keith Atkinson
as Dirty Tricks #2


Sound John Williams Original Music Composer
Directing Steven Spielberg Director
Writing Steven Spielberg Writer
Editing Michael Kahn Editor
Production Juliet Taylor Casting
Art Joe Alves Production Design
Art Phil Abramson Set Decoration
Production Clark L. Paylow Producer
Crew Buddy Joe Hooker Stunt Coordinator
Visual Effects Douglas Trumbull Visual Effects Director
Camera Vilmos Zsigmond Director of Photography
Production Julia Phillips Producer
Production Michael Phillips Producer
Production Shari Rhodes Casting
Art Daniel A. Lomino Art Direction
Writing Matthew Robbins Writer
Writing Hal Barwood Writer
Camera Nick McLean Camera Operator
Sound Frank E. Warner Supervising Sound Effects Editor
Directing Charlsie Bryant Script Supervisor
Art George Jenson Production Illustrator
Writing Jerry Belson Writer
Writing John Hill Writer
Sound Kenneth Wannberg Music Editor
Sound Don MacDougall Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Sam Gordon Property Master
Lighting Earl Gilbert Gaffer
Camera Pete Turner Still Photographer
Camera Peter Sorel Still Photographer
Camera Jim Coe Still Photographer
Production Murray Weissman Publicist
Production Al Ebner Publicist
Production Joe O'Har Location Manager
Art Dan Perri Title Designer