The Sweet Hereafter Solarmovie

The Sweet Hereafter (1997)


A small mountain community in Canada is devastated when a school bus accident leaves more than a dozen of its children dead. A big-city lawyer arrives to help the survivors' and victims' families prepare a class-action suit, but his efforts only seem to push the townspeople further apart. At the same time, one teenage survivor of the accident has to reckon with the loss of innocence brought about by a different kind of damage.

The Sweet Hereafter Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7.1/10 from 215 votes
Release Date: 1997-05-14
Status: Released
Run time: 112 min / 1:52
Production Studio : Alliance Communications, Fine Line Features, Ego Film Arts
Production Country: Canada


Ian Holm
as Mitchell Stephens
Caerthan Banks
as Zoe Stephens
Sarah Polley
as Nicole Burnell
Tom McCamus
as Sam Burnell
Gabrielle Rose
as Dolores Driscoll
Alberta Watson
as Risa Walker
Maury Chaykin
as Wendell
Stephanie Morgenstern
as Allison
Kirsten Kieferle
as Stewardess
Arsinée Khanjian
as Wanda
Earl Pastko
as Hartley
Simon Baker
as Bear
David Hemblen
as Abbott
Bruce Greenwood
as Billy Ansel
Sarah Rosen Fruitman
as Jessica
Marc Donato
as Mason
Devon Finn
as Sean
Fides Krucker
as Klara
Magdalena Sokolowski
as Young Zoe
James D. Watts
as Young Mitchell
Brooke Johnson
as Mary
Allegra Denton
as Jenny
Peter Donaldson
as Schwartz
Russell Banks
as Dr. Robeson
Mychael Danna
as Live Band Harmonium Player (uncredited)


Sound Mychael Danna Original Music Composer
Production András Hámori Executive Producer
Production Robert Lantos Executive Producer
Editing Susan Shipton Editor
Camera Paul Sarossy Director of Photography
Writing Atom Egoyan Screenplay
Directing Atom Egoyan Director
Production Atom Egoyan Producer
Production Camelia Frieberg Producer
Writing Russell Banks Novel
Production David Webb Associate Producer
Sound Steve Munro Sound Designer
Costume & Make-Up Beth Pasternak Costume Design
Art Phillip Barker Production Design
Art Patricia Cuccia Set Decoration
Production Sandra Cunningham Line Producer
Sound Daniel Pellerin Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Editing Paul Winestock First Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up Patricia Boulden Assistant Costume Designer
Sound Keith Elliott Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Directing Joanne T. Harwood Script Supervisor
Art Kathleen Climie Art Direction
Camera Rod Crombie Steadicam Operator
Production Tami Thomson Production Coordinator
Camera Johnnie Eisen Still Photographer
Crew Peter Szkoda Stunt Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Alexander Reda Assistant Costume Designer