The Dark Half Solarmovie

The Dark Half (1993)


Thad Beaumont is the author of a highly successful series of violent pulp thrillers written under the pseudonym of ‘George Stark’, but when he decides to ‘kill-off’ his alter-ego in a mock ceremony, it precipitates a string of sadistic murders matching those in his pulp novels, which are soon discovered to be the work of Stark himself. Looking like a maniacal version of his counterpart, Stark is not so willing to quit the writing game – even if it means coming after Thad's wife and their baby.

The Dark Half Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 5.9/10 from 178 votes
Release Date: 1993-04-23
Status: Released
Run time: 122 min / 2:2
Production Studio : George A. Romero Productions, Orion Pictures
Production Country: United States of America


Timothy Hutton
as Thad Beaumont / George Stark
Amy Madigan
as Liz Beaumont
Michael Rooker
as Sheriff Alan Pangborn
Julie Harris
as Reggie DeLesseps
Robert Joy
as Fred Clawson
Kent Broadhurst
as Mike Donaldson
Beth Grant
as Shayla Beaumont
Rutanya Alda
as Miriam Cowley
Tom Mardirosian
as Rick Cowley
Larry John Meyers
as Dr. Pritchard
Patrick Brannan
as Young Thad Beaumont
Royal Dano
as Digger Holt
Glenn Colerider
as Homer Gamache
Chelsea Field
as Annie Pangborn
Christine Forrest
as Trudy Wiggins
Jeff Monahan
as Wes
Jeff Howell
as Dave
Rik Billock
as Donaldson Cop #2
David Early
as Officer #2


Production Terry Liebling Casting
Writing Stephen King Novel
Writing George A. Romero Screenplay
Directing George A. Romero Director
Production George A. Romero Executive Producer
Camera Tony Pierce-Roberts Director of Photography
Sound Christopher Young Original Music Composer
Editing Pasquale Buba Editor
Sound Michael Hilkene Supervising Sound Editor
Production Declan Baldwin Producer
Camera Michael Spiller Additional Camera
Crew Michael Spiller Second Unit Cinematographer
Crew John Vulich Makeup Effects
Crew Everett Burrell Makeup Effects
Visual Effects Peter Kuran Visual Effects Producer
Sound Joan Rowe Foley
Camera Kyle Rudolph Steadicam Operator
Production Christine Forrest Associate Producer
Crew Mitch Kreindel Unit Publicist
Art Cletus Anderson Production Design
Crew Paul Bucciarelli Scenic Artist
Camera Jeffery J. Tufano Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Anderson Costume Design
Crew Larry Odien Makeup Effects
Sound Eric Lindemann Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Gregory H. Watkins Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Gregg Barbanell Foley
Crew Phil Neilson Stunt Coordinator
Art James C. Feng Art Direction
Sound Bill W. Benton Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Andrew Sands Art Department Coordinator
Sound Carlos Delarios Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Louis Kiss Makeup Effects
Camera Michael Levine Camera Operator
Lighting Marc Rogers Gaffer
Art Brian J. Stonestreet Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Jeannee Josefczyk Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Carol Paulick Makeup Artist
Production Janice F. Sperling Production Supervisor
Art Louis P. Taylor Construction Coordinator
Crew Gary Levinson Property Master
Art David Eckert Set Designer
Crew Vincent Borrelli Scenic Artist
Crew Thomas J. Garrigan Scenic Artist
Crew Mary O'Brien Scenic Artist
Sound Jim Bryan Sound Effects Editor
Crew Kristina M. Horner Special Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Kevin Kutchaver Visual Effects Supervisor
Camera Lynne Warberg Still Photographer
Sound John LaSalandra Music Editor
Crew Marc Scott Transportation Coordinator
Directing James Ellis Script Supervisor