The Thing Solarmovie

The Thing (1982)

HorrorMysteryScience Fiction

Members of an American scientific research outpost in Antarctica find themselves battling a parasitic alien organism capable of perfectly imitating its victims. They soon discover that this task will be harder than they thought, as they don't know which members of the team have already been assimilated and their paranoia threatens to tear them apart.

The Thing Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 8/10 from 3834 votes
Release Date: 1982-06-25
Status: Released
Run time: 109 min / 1:49
Production Studio : Universal Pictures, Turman-Foster Company
Production Country: United States of America


Kurt Russell
as R.J. MacReady
Wilford Brimley
as Dr. Blair
T. K. Carter
as Nauls
David Clennon
as Palmer
Keith David
as Childs
Richard Dysart
as Dr. Copper
Charles Hallahan
as Norris
Peter Maloney
as Bennings
Richard Masur
as Clark
Donald Moffat
as Garry
Joel Polis
as Fuchs
Thomas G. Waites
as Windows
Norbert Weisser
as Norwegian
Larry J. Franco
as Norwegian Passenger With Rifle
Nate Irwin
as Helicopter Pilot
William Zeman
as Pilot
Adrienne Barbeau
as Computer (voice) (uncredited)
John Carpenter
as Norwegian (video footage) (uncredited)
as The Dog


Production Larry J. Franco Associate Producer
Directing Larry J. Franco First Assistant Director
Art John M. Dwyer Set Decoration
Camera Dean Cundey Director of Photography
Sound Ennio Morricone Original Music Composer
Editing Todd C. Ramsay Editor
Art John J. Lloyd Production Design
Crew Roy Arbogast Special Effects
Sound Colin C. Mouat Supervising Sound Editor
Directing John Carpenter Director
Sound John Carpenter Original Music Composer
Production David Foster Producer
Art Graeme Murray Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Ken Chase Makeup Artist
Crew Ken Diaz Makeup Effects
Production Robert Latham Brown Production Manager
Crew Dick Warlock Stunt Coordinator
Writing Bill Lancaster Screenplay
Production Stuart Cohen Co-Producer
Production Wilbur Stark Executive Producer
Production Anita Dann Casting
Art Henry Larrecq Art Direction
Sound Alan Howarth Original Music Composer
Production Lawrence Turman Producer
Crew Denver Mattson Stunts
Camera David Geddes Second Assistant Camera
Directing Jeffrey Chernov Second Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Trish Keating Costume Supervisor
Camera Raymond Stella Camera Operator
Production Fitch Cady Unit Production Manager
Crew Rob Bottin Makeup Effects
Camera Clyde E. Bryan First Assistant Camera
Crew Eric Mansker Stunts
Crew Larry Holt Stunts
Crew Melvin Jones Stunts
Sound Steve Maslow Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Rock A. Walker Stunts
Crew Ken Strain Stunts
Crew Ken Strain Pilot
Crew Jerry Wills Stunts
Sound John K. Adams Foley Supervisor
Camera Dave Gordon Dolly Grip
Sound Warren Hamilton Jr. Sound Effects Editor
Camera Cyrus Block Camera Operator
Camera Dillard Brinson Key Grip
Costume & Make-Up Ronald I. Caplan Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Gilbert Loe Costume Supervisor
Sound Cliff Kohlweck Music Editor
Crew John Zemansky Property Master
Art Barton M. Susman Leadman
Sound David Lewis Yewdall Supervising Sound Editor
Lighting Thomas Marshall Gaffer
Lighting Charles E. Nippell Best Boy Electric
Directing Candy Artmont Script Supervisor
Directing Christine Wilson Script Supervisor
Camera Chris Helcermanas-Benge Still Photographer
Lighting Len Wolfe Best Boy Electric
Crew John K. Stirber Special Effects Assistant
Art Mentor Huebner Production Illustrator
Lighting David R. Anderson Gaffer
Writing John W. Campbell Jr. Story
Crew Kent Hays Stunts
Lighting Mark Walthour Gaffer
Camera Kris Krosskove Dolly Grip
Crew Anthony Cecere Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Phyllis Newman Makeup Artist
Directing Michael Steele Second Assistant Director
Crew Lee Routly Special Effects
Crew Nate Irwin Pilot
Crew Lawrence Perry Pilot
Camera Ronald Woodward Key Grip
Camera James L. Hurford Best Boy Grip
Art Gary Meyer Production Illustrator
Crew George Lawson Driver
Crew Hans Metz Special Effects Assistant
Crew Bob Cornell Transportation Captain
Crew Dan Anglin Transportation Captain
Art Richard A. Gonzales Swing
Crew Clint Rowe Stunts
Camera Steve Tate Second Assistant Camera
Sound Kendrick P. Sweet Sound Editor
Sound Ernesto Mas Assistant Sound Editor
Art Joseph R. Savko Swing
Art Milton Wilson Swing
Camera Ray Kinzer Grip
Art Michael R. Gannon Assistant Property Master
Crew Rocky Corsini Craft Service
Art James Callan Painter
Art Michael Ploog Production Illustrator
Production Ron MacInnes Production Assistant
Production Debbie Collier Production Secretary
Crew Yervant Babasin Craft Service
Production Karen Kalton Production Secretary
Crew Robin Mounsey Technical Advisor
Camera Paul R. Prince First Assistant Camera
Camera Douglas Pruss Second Assistant Camera
Crew Michael A. Clifford Special Effects
Crew Alois Stranan Transportation Captain
Crew Spencer Hyde Craft Service
Crew Barrett J. Reid Generator Operator