Oliver Twist Solarmovie

Oliver Twist (1948)


When 9-year-old orphan Oliver Twist dares to ask his cruel taskmaster, Mr. Bumble, for a second serving of gruel, he's hired out as an apprentice. Escaping that dismal fate, young Oliver falls in with the street urchin known as the Artful Dodger and his criminal mentor, Fagin. When kindly Mr. Brownlow takes Oliver in, Fagin's evil henchman Bill Sikes plots to kidnap the boy.

Oliver Twist Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7.4/10 from 107 votes
Release Date: 1948-06-28
Status: Released
Run time: 116 min / 1:56
Production Studio : Cineguild
Production Country: United Kingdom


John Howard Davies
as Oliver Twist
Robert Newton
as Bill Sikes
Alec Guinness
as Fagin
Kay Walsh
as Nancy
Francis L. Sullivan
as Mr. Bumble
Henry Stephenson
as Mr. Brownlow
Mary Clare
as Mrs. Corney
Anthony Newley
as Artful Dodger
Ralph Truman
as Monks
Michael Dear
as Noah Claypole
Diana Dors
as Charlotte
Josephine Stuart
as Oliver's Mother
Kathleen Harrison
as Mrs Sowerberry
Gibb McLaughlin
as Mr. Sowerberry
Amy Veness
as Mrs. Bedwin
Frederick Lloyd
as Mr. Grimwig
Henry Edwards
as Police Official
Ivor Barnard
as Chairman of the Board
Maurice Denham
as Chief of Police
Michael Ripper
as Barney
Peter Bull
as Landlord of 'Three Cripples'
Deidre Doyle
as Mrs. Thingummy
Kenneth Downey
as Workhouse Master (as Kenneth Downy)
W.G. Fay
as Bookseller
Edie Martin
as Annie
Fay Middleton
as Martha
Graveley Edwards
as Mr. Fang
John Potter
as Charlie Bates
Maurice Jones
as Workhouse Doctor
Hattie Jacques
as Singer at 'Three Cripples'
Betty Paul
as Singer at 'Three Cripples'


Sound Winston Ryder Sound Editor
Writing Charles Dickens Novel
Production Ronald Neame Producer
Directing George Pollock Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Stuart Freeborn Makeup Artist
Writing David Lean Screenplay
Directing David Lean Director
Editing Jack Harris Editor
Writing Stanley Haynes Screenplay
Sound Arnold Bax Original Music Composer
Camera Guy Green Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Margaret Furse Costume Design
Sound Stanley Lambourne Sound
Costume & Make-Up Biddy Chrystal Hairstylist
Sound Gordon K. McCallum Sound
Crew J. Arthur Rank Presenter
Production Dennis Van Thal Casting
Art T. Hopewell Ash Set Decoration
Art Claude Momsay Set Decoration
Production Norman Spencer Production Manager
Sound George Paternoster Boom Operator
Camera Jim Body Focus Puller