49th Parallel Solarmovie

49th Parallel (1941)


In the early days of World War II, a German U-boat is sunk in Canada's Hudson Bay. Hoping to evade capture, a small band of German soldiers led by commanding officer Lieutenant Hirth attempts to cross the border into the United States, which has not yet entered the war and is officially neutral. Along the way, the German soldiers encounter brave men such as a French-Canadian fur trapper, Johnnie, a leader of a Hutterite farming community, Peter, an author, Philip and a soldier, Andy Brock.

49th Parallel Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7/10 from 41 votes
Release Date: 1941-11-24
Status: Released
Run time: 123 min / 2:3
Production Studio : Ortus Films
Production Country: United Kingdom


Leslie Howard
as Philip Armstrong Scott
Laurence Olivier
as Johnnie, the Trapper
Raymond Massey
as Andy Brock
Adolf Wohlbrück
as Peter
Eric Portman
as Lieutenant Hirth
Raymond Lovell
as Lieutenant Kuhnecke
Richard George
as Kommandant Bernsdorff
Niall MacGinnis
as Vogel
Peter Moore
as Kranz
John Chandos
as Lohrmann
Finlay Currie
as The Factor
Glynis Johns
as Anna
Basil Appleby
as Jahner
Ley On
as Nick - the Eskimo
Charles Victor
as Andreas
Frederick Piper
as David
Tawera Moana
as George, the Indian
Eric Clavering
as Art
Charles Rolfe
as Bob
Theodore Salt
as A United States Customs Officer
O.W. Fonger
as A United States Customs Officer
George Alexander
as Cameo
Robert Beatty
as RCMP Mountie in Alberta (voice)
Eric Berry
as Nazi Radio Announcer
Gron Davies
as Officer on Submarine
Leslie Falardeau
as Aviator on Seaplane
Lionel Grose
as Undetermined Role
Jack Hynes
as Aviator on Seaplane
Stuart Latham
as Second Nazi Radio Announcer
Norman Luxton
as Man in fringed jacket on balcony at Banff Indian Day
Vincent Massey
as Prologue Narrator (voice)
Percy Parsons
as Hi-Jacked Canadian Motorist
Gerry Wilmot
as Canadian Radio Announcer


Art Peter Cushing Props
Camera Freddie Young Director of Photography
Production George H. Brown Assistant Production Manager
Editing David Lean Editor
Sound Muir Mathieson Music Director
Writing Emeric Pressburger Screenplay
Writing Emeric Pressburger Original Story
Writing Emeric Pressburger Scenario Writer
Editing Hugh Stewart Associate Editor
Directing Michael Powell Director
Production Michael Powell Producer
Art Sydney Streeter Assistant Art Director
Production John Sutro Other
Art David Rawnsley Art Direction
Production Roland Gillett Assistant Production Manager
Writing Rodney Ackland Scenario Writer
Camera Osmond Borradaile Additional Photography
Sound A.W. Watkins Sound Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up George Blackler Makeup Artist
Camera Skeets Kelly Camera Operator
Art Frederick Pusey Assistant Art Director
Sound Ralph Vaughan Williams Music
Sound C.C. Stevens Sound Recordist
Production Harold Boxall Production Manager
Directing Arthur Seabourne Assistant Director
Sound Walter Darling Sound Recordist
Camera Henty Henty-Creer Camera Operator
Camera Jim Body Clapper Loader
Crew Nugent M. Clougher Technical Advisor