Brown Sugar Solarmovie

Brown Sugar (2002)


Sidney is a writer who's just left her L.A. Times music review gig to edit New York hip-hop magazine XXL. Dre is an executive with a hip-hop record company based in New York. They've known each other since they met as children, when both discovered hip-hop for the first time. Now that they're back together, they should be perfect for each other, except that Dre's about to marry lawyer Reese and Sidney claims not to be interested in Dre romantically. Meanwhile, Dre is growing increasingly restless with his company's focus on profit over artistry, which leads to signing the gimmicky duo Ren and Ten while ignoring the talented Chris

Brown Sugar Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 6.9/10 from 59 votes
Release Date: 2002-10-05
Status: Released
Run time: 109 min / 1:49


Sanaa Lathan
as Sidney 'Syd' Shaw
Taye Diggs
as Andre Romulus 'Dre' Ellis
Yasiin Bey
as Chris 'Cav' Anton Vichon
Queen Latifah
as fracine
Nicole Ari Parker
as Reese Marie Wiggam Ellis
Boris Kodjoe
as Kelby Dawson
Sterling K. Brown
as Co-Worker
Wendell Pierce
as Simon
Big Daddy Kane
as Himself
Ahmir-Khalib Thompson
as Himself
Kool G Rap
as Himself
Black Thought
as Himself
Doug E. Fresh
as Himself
Pete Rock
as Himself
Jermaine Dupri
as Himself
Slick Rick
as Himself
Russell Simmons
as Himself
as Himself
Talib Kweli
as Himself
Beanie Sigel
as Himself
Method Man
as Himself


Art Kalina Ivanov Production Design
Camera Enrique Chediak Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Darryle Johnson Costume Design
Sound Robert Fernandez Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Writing Rick Famuyiwa Screenplay
Directing Rick Famuyiwa Director
Production Alexa L. Fogel Casting
Editing Dirk Westervelt Editor
Writing Michael Elliot Screenplay
Writing Michael Elliot Story
Sound Gary Gegan Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Robert Hurst Original Music Composer
Sound Alan Freedman Foley Mixer
Sound Michael Hertlein ADR Editor
Directing Deirdre Horgan Script Supervisor
Camera Rick Raphael Steadicam Operator
Sound Daniel S. Irwin Dialogue Editor
Sound Greg Hedgepath Supervising Sound Editor
Camera Andrew Casey Camera Operator
Camera K.C. Bailey Still Photographer
Sound Stephanie Flack Dialogue Editor
Camera Will Arnot Camera Operator
Camera Will Arnot Steadicam Operator
Art Nora Kasarda Art Department Coordinator
Art Peter Gelfman Property Master
Sound William Sarokin Sound Mixer
Art Roberta J. Holinko Set Decoration