Monty Python and the Holy Grail Solarmovie

Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)


King Arthur, accompanied by his squire, recruits his Knights of the Round Table, including Sir Bedevere the Wise, Sir Lancelot the Brave, Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-As-Sir-Lancelot and Sir Galahad the Pure. On the way, Arthur battles the Black Knight who, despite having had all his limbs chopped off, insists he can still fight. They reach Camelot, but Arthur decides not to enter, as "it is a silly place".

Monty Python and the Holy Grail Solarmovie
Solarmovie Score: 7.8/10 from 3936 votes
Release Date: 1975-05-25
Status: Released
Run time: 91 min / 1:31
Production Studio : Python (Monty) Pictures Limited, Michael White Productions, National Film Trustee Company
Production Country: United Kingdom


Graham Chapman
as King Arthur / Voice of God / Middle Head / Hiccoughing Guard
John Cleese
as Second Swallow-Savvy Guard / The Black Knight / Peasant 3 / Sir Launcelot the Brave / Taunting French Guard / Tim the Enchanter
Eric Idle
as Dead Collector / Peasant 1 / Sir Robin the Not-Quite-So-Brave-as-Sir Launcelot / First Swamp Castle Guard / Concorde / Roger the Shrubber / Brother Maynard
Terry Gilliam
as Patsy / Green Knight / Old Man from Scene 24 (Bridgekeeper) / Sir Bors / Animator / Gorilla Hand
Terry Jones
as Dennis's Mother / Sir Bedevere / Left Head / Prince Herbert / Voice of Cartoon Scribe
Michael Palin
as First Swallow-Savvy Guard / Dennis / Peasant 2 / Right Head / Sir Galahad the Pure / Narrator / King of Swamp Castle / Brother Maynard's Brother / Leader of The Knights Who Say NI!
Connie Booth
as The Witch
Carol Cleveland
as Zoot / Dingo
Neil Innes
as First Monk / Singing Minstrel / Page Crushed by the Rabbit / Peasant #4
Bee Duffell
as Old Crone
John Young
as Dead Body / Historian Frank
Rita Davies
as Historian's Wife
Avril Stewart
as Dr. Piglet
Sally Kinghorn
as Dr. Winston
Mark Zycon
as Prisoner
Elspeth Cameron
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Mitsuko Forstater
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Sandy Johnson
as Knight of Ni / Villager at Witch Burning / Musician at Wedding / Monk / Knight in Battle
Sandy Rose
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Romilly Squire
as Musician at Wedding / Villager at Witch Burning
Joni Flynn
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Alison Walker
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Loraine Ward
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Anna Lanski
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Sally Coombe
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Vivienne MacDonald
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Yvonne Dick
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Daphne Darling
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Fiona Gordon
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Judy Lamb
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Tracy Sneddon
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Joyce Pollner
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Mary Allen
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Gloria Graham
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Sylvia Taylor
as Girl in Castle Anthrax
Iain Banks
as Knight in Battle (uncredited)
Julian Doyle
as Police Sergeant (uncredited)
Margarita Doyle
as Peasant (uncredited)
Charles Knode
as Camp Guard / Robin's Minstrel (uncredited)
Zack Matalon
as Guard who Falls into Barrels (uncredited)
Scott Mike
as Bash (Mudfighter (uncredited)
William Palin
as Sir Not-Appearing-in-this-Film (uncredited)
Terry Jones
as Themselves (uncredited)
Tom Raeburn
as Guard Eating Apple (uncredited)
Brian Ross
as Biff (Mudfighter) (uncredited)
Roy Forge Smith
as Inspector End of Film (uncredited)
John Thornton
as Dancing Knight (uncredited)
Maggie Weston
as Page-turner (uncredited)


Directing Terry Gilliam Director
Writing Terry Gilliam Writer
Camera Roger Pratt Assistant Camera
Writing Michael Palin Writer
Crew Gary Cooper Thanks
Directing Terry Jones Director
Writing Terry Jones Writer
Writing Graham Chapman Writer
Writing John Cleese Writer
Writing Eric Idle Writer
Production John Goldstone Executive Producer
Production Julian Doyle Production Manager
Costume & Make-Up Hazel Pethig Costume Design
Production Mark Forstater Producer
Camera Terry Bedford Director of Photography
Editing John Hackney Editor
Art Roy Forge Smith Production Design
Camera Howard Atherton Camera Operator
Writing Thomas Malory Writer
Production Michael White Producer
Crew Michael White Presenter
Sound Garth Marshall Sound Recordist
Directing Penny Eyles Continuity
Sound Hugh Strain Sound Mixer
Art Bill Harman Construction Manager
Sound Campbell Askew Assistant Sound Editor
Art Philip Cowlam Assistant Art Director
Art Graham Bullock Painter
Art Tom Raeburn Property Master
Costume & Make-Up Pam Luke Makeup Artist
Crew Nobby Clark Carpenter
Crew John Horton Special Effects
Sound Jean-Raphaƫl Dedieu Sound Effects Editor
Crew Leo Kharibian Choreographer
Production Brian Brockwell Accountant
Directing Gerry Harrison Assistant Director
Art Brian Winterborn Property Buyer
Sound Bob Doyle Sound Assistant
Sound Ian Crafford Sound Effects
Editing Campbell Askew Assistant Editor
Production Christine Watt Production Secretary